The Permissions section of Config > Invoicing > Invoice Admin allows you to control whether invoices can be edited or deleted when they are in a status of either Paid or Sent.
Editing Permissions for Paid and Sent Invoices
There are two settings that you can choose between when configuring the editing permissions:
- ‘Allow editing of full invoice’ allows you to edit any information that has been entered in an invoice, including the header, invoice components, notes and terms section.
- ‘Allow editing of header only’ will unlock the fields in the invoice header (excluding Customer and Billing Entity) so that you can edit them. When you click ‘Edit’ in the invoice, only these header fields, notes, and terms fields will unlock for editing.
When editing is not enabled for either Paid or Sent invoices, an ‘Edit’ button will not display when invoices of that type are being viewed.
NOTE: Partially paid invoices are considered in the same as a ‘Paid’ invoice regarding these permissions.
Deletion Permissions for Sent Invoices
You can configure your portal to allow you to delete sent invoices by ticking this checkbox in the Config > Invoicing > Invoice Admin screen.
When this is selected, you’ll see the 'Delete Invoices' option in Invoicing > Outstanding in the ‘With selected…’ drop-down list.
- Invoices with a status of Sent, Viewed or Overdue can be deleted.
- Invoices with a status of Partial will need to have any applied payments or credit notes removed before you will be able to delete them.
- Invoices with a status of Paid can’t be deleted. You will need to use the write-off process for these.
Deleted invoices will be recorded in Reports > System History > System History Report.
Editing Permissions and Period Lock Dates
If there are reporting period lock dates set in your portal, this will override any editing or deletion permissions that you have set up. For example, if an invoice falls in a locked period, you won't be able to edit it, regardless of the editing permissions you have enabled.