Leave requests that have been assigned to a specific job can be transferred to a different job from the Reports > Payroll > Leave Requests report (also at Payroll > Status Reports > Leave Requests).
This allows an administrator to move requests that have been assigned incorrectly and manage existing requests if an originally assigned job is finishing.
Please note that leave request transferral is disabled in portals by default, so to have this functionality enabled, please contact our Support Team for assistance.
Transfer a Leave Request
To transfer a leave request from the Leave Requests report:
- Tick the checkbox next to the employee’s name to select a leave request. You can select up to 10 requests for the same employee in one action.
- Click With selected leave requests… > Transfer > Go to activate the Transfer Leave Request popup window.
- Review the details of each leave request in the popup window, as required. The summary includes the leave type and the Related Job (the job that is currently linked to the request).
- In the Action dropdown field, select Transfer and then choose the active job from the additional To Job field that appears.
If there are no current active jobs for the employee, this field will populate with ‘No Active Jobs’ and you will be unable to transfer the request.
- Click Submit.
If you have selected multiple leave requests to transfer, the actioned request will be removed from the popup window once the changes hvae been saved. You can follow the same process for all other requests.
After a Request is Transferred
Once you have transferred the leave request to the new active job, the original leave request is cancelled and a new leave request is created that copies the details of the original leave request, including any attached files. Please note that any audit trail is not copied over.
The History section in both the original and the new request will be updated with details of the transferral:
- The original request will show that the request has been cancelled due to transferral, with the user and date of action included.
- The new request will make note of the transferral, the user, and the date of the action.
Leave approval emails will be sent out to the approver associated with the new related job only, with the content depending on the status of the request:
- If the original leave request was Pending Approval, the leave approver will receive an email with details of the request advising that it requires approval.
- If the original leave request was already Approved, the leave approver email will indicate that the request has been transferred and that approval is required again.
Limitations on Transferring a Leave Request
For leave requests to be transferred, there are a number of validations that must be met:
- The leave request must be in a status of Pending Submission, Pending Approval, Approved or Rejected.
- If the employee is linked to a variable timesheet, then the timesheet for the same period as the leave request must be in a status of Not Opened, Pending Submission, or Pending Approval.
- If the employee is linked to a master timesheet, the master timesheet for the related period must be finalised, and the leave requested in Pending Submission or Pending Approval status.
If the above criteria are not met, you will receive an error in the popup window. Errors will also identify if the leave request is linked to multiple jobs.
Please note that transfers can only be actioned for a single employee at a time. If leave requests for multiple employees are selected in the Leave Requests report, you will receive an error.
Jobs With Finish Dates
The Astute system will automatically flag via an on-screen banner when a job has a Finish Date entered and there are leave requests that are pending approval or approved, and future dated, so that you can determine how to proceed.
The banner will include a link to Transfer Leave Requests or dismiss the warning. Clicking the Transfer Leave Requests hyperlink will prompt the popup window to appear, and will include the pending leave requests that need actioning.
If there are no future dated leave requests, but there is a timesheet for the same period as a leave request that is Approved or Ready for Interpretation, the banner will instead flag that there are submitted timesheets with work recorded after the Finish Date that has been entered.
Cancel a Leave Request
The Transfer Leave Request popup also has a Cancel function, which allows you to cancel unprocessed leave requests.
To cancel a leave request from the Transfer Leave Request popup:
- Go to the Leave Requests report.
- Tick the leave requests you would like to cancel.
- Click With selected leave requests > Transfer > Go.
- In the Action dropdown, select Cancel.
- Click Submit.
Requests can only be cancelled if they are in Pending Submission, Pending Approval, Approved or Rejected status. If the employee uses a variable timesheet, the timesheet for the leave period must be in a status of Not Opened, Pending Submission, or Pending Approval.
Once a leave request is cancelled, the available balance will be returned to the employee and a note will be added to the History section of the leave request, updating the status and identifying the user who has performed the action and the date and time it was actioned.